The Joint Command and Staff College (JCSC) held its inaugural symposium in Karen, Nairobi aimed at promoting intellectual discourse between its students and the faculty with expert practitioners, researchers and professionals in specific areas of academic interest in an environment different from the formal lecturers.

The symposium themed ‘Harnessing Technology Advancements in Enhancing Military Capabilities in the 21st Century’ was intended to examine the implication of technological advancements, implications of automated weapon systems for military force in developing countries as well as the security and economic implications of technology-based vulnerabilities.

In his remarks, JCSC Commandant Major General Eric Kinuthia thanked the speakers and panelists for accepting to share their knowledge with the students.

“The College views this symposium as a starting point in our pursuit to respond to the strategic directive for the University to lead research on pertinent areas of interest and promote national security. I hope that this forum will spur innovation among the students, the faculty and the wider National Defence University-Kenya (NDU-K) family with the interest to pursue further research in the thematic areas that have been discussed today,” said Maj Gen Kinuthia.

Deputy Vice-Chancellor (DVC) Academic and Student Affairs at National Defence University (NDU-K), Prof. Anne Muigai, highlighted advancement in technology, especially in Artificial Intelligence and the risks of not doing research.

“We should be able to answer ethical questions like who bears the responsibility when machines go killing? This symposium brings new viewpoints from practitioners to broaden approaches that could provide long-lasting solutions as well as fostering a culture of critical thinking, a requisite skill needed for officers deployed in operations,” added Prof.

JCSC is a tri-service College of NDU-K whose main objective is to train officers from the three Services of the Kenya Defence Forces (KDF) and other allied countries including; Botswana, Burundi, Egypt, Ethiopia, Lesotho, Malawi, Namibia, Nepal, Rwanda, South Africa, South Sudan, Sudan, Swaziland (Eswatini), Tanzania, Uganda and Zambia.


Add Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

X-Frame-Options: SAMEORIGIN
Skip to content